Transport for London has identified trucks as a major cause of collisions with vulnerable road users. As a result it wants to see more vehicles with better direct vision for the driver through their left hand side windows. 

What does this mean for you?

The DVS rates HGVs over 12 tonnes on a star system from 0 (lowest) to 5 (highest), based on how much a HGV driver can see directly through their cab windows, as opposed to indirectly through cameras or mirrors.

From 2020 you will need an HGV Safety Permit in order to operate your HGV in the capital.

Vehicles scoring three stars or above will qualify for a permit.

DGC Safety Scoring System

Vehicles with 0 to 2 stars will have to have 'safe system' measures installed, including:

  1. Blind spot elimination and minimisation Example: a fully operational camera monitoring system; both Class V and VI mirrors; and a sensor system with driver alerts.
  2. Warning of intended manoeuvre Example: audible left-turn vehicle manoeuvring warning and external pictorial stickers and markings
  3. Minimising physical impact of a hazard Example: side-underrun protection.

Speak to a DGC specialist now on 020 8319 7805.

In partnership with you, all the way

Contact Us